Google Maps and Christmas Eve

Have a jolly one ❤️

My parents and I decided to have lunch together on Christmas Eve

While we have a couple of favourite spots to eat in my hometown, we decided to have something different today

If you’re around my age you probably use Google Maps to navigate your way to new places but my Dad?

Well…

He’s old school but he knows some roads in the city like no other 😎

On our way to the restaurant, I knew one particular route and decided to stick to it when my Dad, like ALL Dads wanted to chip in with a ‘pro tip’

“Take a right over here. There’s a shorter way”

I was puzzled but as I said, he knows the roads better

I obliged, slowed down, dropped a gear and did a U-Turn

3 minutes later…

“Where now?” I asked

“I think I missed a turn” says my Dad

“Um… what?” I reply… (confused because this was supposed to be easier)

“Yeah I missed a turn”

Wrong turns aside, we find a way back to the main road and eventually reach the same road I started with

😐

So much for that pro tip…

But you know what?

It’s funny because people are amazing when they’re wrong compared to when they’re right…

(Get it? 🤣)

We reach the place, enjoy a good meal and have a story that’s memorable because of one simple turn

Well, that’s Dad’s for you… and parents in general but also most of us when we’re right vs. wrong 😬

So if you’ve been wrong this year on any occasion remember this:

  • It’s okay to make mistakes

  • It’s okay to take a left instead of a right

  • It’s okay to zig when the world zags

because…

more often than not? the mistakes are a better teacher than the lack of mistakes ever are

It’s one of the main reasons I wanted to do an annual review

We’ve spent the last 2 days reviewing it and some of the things I’ve spotted have been amazing

If you missed them, here’s:

Today? It’s Christmas Eve soooooo…

I just recommend Cake and a glass of wine (or coffee if you’re me 🤪)

Spend some time with family or friends if you’re away from family or watch a Christmas movie (Home Alone 🤌🏼)

See you tomorrow for Day 3 of our review

Merry Christmas you filthy animals ❤️

Merry Christmas GIF by Sky

Gif by SkyTV on Giphy