You just need 2 minutes for 12 months

It's amazing how much you forget

I decided to do what I promised you yesterday:

Review my year

(and help you do the same. Today? you just need 2 minutes)

Now the traditional method to reviews isnā€™t something I like

Itā€™s boring. It sucks. It makes me think way too much.

Hereā€™s the thingā€¦

Thinking about the past, looking back on your year and reflecting is a simple act that pays huge dividends BUT itā€™s important, for this very reason, to make it easy.

Starting is the hardest part so the OBVIOUS way to solve this is

ā€¦

ā€¦

ā€¦

Make it Easy!

I know right? A genius solution šŸ¤£

Anyway, to make it easy means youā€™ll take action and hereā€™s what I did

I wrote down what I remembered off the top of my head

Simple.

So, as promised, letā€™s get started with you:

Open your notes app or open a notebook and write down your favourite moments this year

They donā€™t have to be chronological. They donā€™t have to make sense. Thereā€™re no rules.

Just. Write.

Wrote just one line? No problem.

Canā€™t stop writing? Even better.

Thereā€™s no right or wrong.

For what itā€™s worth, I wrote 4

Now, I expected moreā€¦ so I did what felt natural in the moment:

Take out my phone. Opened the photos app and clicked on the monthly view. When I started writing again, I came up with 17! yesā€¦ 17 items!

And guess what?

There was so much in there to digest, I couldnā€™t stop smiling and why wouldnā€™t you?

Every great memory is in your photo library

Youā€™re probably thinkingā€¦ ā€œSo I just look at my phone and write down stuff?ā€

Uhā€¦ yes. I promised you it would be simple šŸ˜‰

So thatā€™s Day 1 of reviewing your year

Step 1: Write down what comes to mind

Step 2: Scroll through your photo library and write down what stands out

I concluded with a few lessons of my own

  1. Iā€™m too hard on myself. (I thought I didnā€™t do much)

  2. I travelled a lot! (and had fun with great people)

  3. I ran my first half-marathon (definitely have to give myself some credit there)

Hereā€™s the thing friendā€¦ sometimes stopping and reflecting reminds you how awesome you are

So go ahead. Write down those awesome memories youā€™ve had!

Thatā€™s it for today. Feel free to wing it. It IS your review šŸ˜„ and heyā€¦ if you wrote just one line thatā€™s okay too :)

What did you enjoy the most about this activity? Hit that reply button

(Or DM me on š• / Whatsapp depending on where youā€™re reading)

See you tomorrow for the next one!