I'm getting pizza and cake

For Free

It’s Christmas season so universities, schools and the likes have leaves starting this week into the New Years

So I swiped my phone open, tapped on Whatsapp and said:

“Hey kids, I understand classes don’t happen till next year. Enjoy the time off and see you in January” (or something on these lines)

I get some heart reacts (kids đŸ€·đŸ»â€â™‚ïž) and then I see


A reel


Forwarded right into the group

It seemed to me that someone wanted to wish the group too (in a cooler manner đŸ€”)

I took the bait

I watch the reel (shudder) (I loathe reels)

Only to realise that it’s one of the students forwarding something to the wrong group
 completely


đŸ€ŠđŸ»â€â™‚ïž

It wasn’t a bad video. It had pizza and cake in it. I don’t remember the rest.

(It had people dancing and stuff
)

The devious person that I am took the opportunity to prank someone

I replied “Okay! so cake and pizza next class by ____”

Then, I started a poll


“Cake and pizza next class from ___”

13 Yes to 0 No 😆

So come New Years, I’m getting pizza and cake in class

Speaking of New Years, we’re at the end of 2023 and that brings us to

Day 2!

After walking down memory lane with all those photos, I thought let’s turn things up a bit today

Why keep things the same when you have the choice to do it differently 😏

So here’s what we’ll do

Don’t worry. It’s dead simple and will take only 10 seconds (unless you have the speed of a sloth đŸŠ„)

Open your notes/notes app and write down the following:

  1. Health

  2. Career

  3. Creator / Hobbies

  4. Technology

  5. Personal

As promised, 10 seconds. What next? Let’s look back under each category.

You can use yesterday’s list if it helps but the goal is to write key achievements under each category

For example, mine was:

Sports:

  1. Ran my first half-marathon

  2. Won the internal football tournament

Creator:

  1. Started learning copythinking

  2. Finally had a practical offer funnel come through

  3. Met a group of indie hackers and presented my concept of ‘pre-copy’ to them

Tech

  1. All my audio equipment

Once you do this for each category, we’ll turn it up a bit again. Remember! The goal is to reflect.

Now we visit each item and consider this:

  1. Why did this achievement stand out?

  2. How did this define my year?

  3. How does this lead into 2023?

We’ll use mine again so you get an idea and can do the same

Sports:

  1. Ran my first half-marathon

  1. Why did this achievement stand out? —> My body showed me what it’s capable of with good training and dedication. I was grateful for it.

  2. How did this define my year? —> It set the tone for the rest of my 2023 as it happened in January. Nothing adds more confidence than an achievement like this

  3. How does this lead into 2024? —> I’m running another half marathon in Jan 2024. When I stopped running I realised how much I loved it. So I got back on track and registered for my second official half-marathon

You continue doing this on your list at your pace and comfort. It just gets more valuable as you do it. It enforces the mechanism of understanding why these mean so much to you and only you my friend can do this.

So that’s it for today.

I know you’ll spend some time doing this and some moments will stand out larger than others. This is a good thing and the best part? It’s all YOU.

That’s it from me for today! I’ll see you tomorrow for the next one.

(p.s. If you missed yesterday’s email it’s probably in your inbox. If you’re on the web and haven’t signed up yet then what’s stopping you?)