Thunk… thunk… drop

This kid gave me a reminder

Thunk… thunk… drop

Thunk… thunk… thunk… thunk… drop

Thunk… drop

This went on for a bit. A kid in the neighbourhood didn’t give up trying to balance bouncing a shuttlecock with his racquet. 🏸

Thunk… thunk… drop

He kept going.

Failed? Didn’t matter

Dropped it awkwardly? Didn’t matter

Sometimes I wonder why this side of us grew up. The side that never cared what others thought.

Nowadays I think 100 times before attempting something. The most common reason?

Fair of failure

If I attempted things like this kid did, there’s a high chance I’d have explored a lot more without looking for an incentive.

Why is this an important point? Why dwell on the fear of failure?

Let me explain…

If you’ve been doing the year-end review with me over the last few days you'll realise that we’d have identified things we’re unhappy with.

Honestly? Some of these failures (not all) don’t change much. The only change attributed to it is our judgement of those experiences.

Unfortunately, we’re our harshest critics but the bigger fact is we’re often also our only critics.

The Spotlight effect at its best.

“We suffer more in our imagination than in reality” - Seneca

Meanwhile this kid?

He kept on going. Didn’t bother him one bit.

Sometimes? The answer simply lies in being a kid again. Just:

Thunk… thunk… drop

p.s. We’re done with reviewing our year but the next bit? Prepping for 2024.

As a thank you for being part of my annual review, I’m sending over a free document to help you recap or, if you haven’t yet, do a simple annual review of your own.

To make the product simple and effective, let me know what you loved about the annual review. It’ll help you and several others perform this activity WHENEVER you need to (not just at the end of the year).

If time permits I’ll send it over within the next 24 hours. 48 hours at most!

See you in the next one 😁