Procrastination doesn't mean you're lazy

Let me explain

I don’t know about you but procrastination has been a recurring problem in my life

It seems simple right?

Procrastination - the act of delaying or posting something

Most people tell you to ‘just do it’.

facepalm

WOW! Why didn’t I think about that? It’s as though that thought never occurred to me

It’s not a pleasant place to be in

Does this sound familiar?

  • You don’t do something

  • You feel guilty

  • You wait till the last minute

  • You do it

  • You wonder why you waited so long

I thought we were being lazy but the truth is… it has a good deal to do with mental triggers

It can be due to the task being:

  1. Frustrating

  2. Boring

  3. Ambiguos

  4. Unrewarding

amongst many other things

Now… there’s no ‘quick fix’ for this but realising that this can’t be fixed by an app or ‘not being lazy’ was quite relieving to me

So if you’re feeling guilty about procrastinating?

Don’t

Over the next few weeks I’ll be touching on the different nuances of procrastination (so you don’t keep falling into that negative spiral)

but until then?

stay safe friend

cheers,
Rainar