The 2 Step Method To Prep for 2024

Takes 5 minutes tops

Itā€™s that time of the year where everything fills you with hope

The decorations, the music, the food! Everything is so festive you wonder what can go wrong.

ā€œIā€™ll hit the gym from Jan 1stā€

ā€œIā€™ll ready 52 books in 2024ā€

ā€œIā€™ll start writing a blogā€

These are the several promises people make only to realise, 2 weeks later that theyā€™ve failed horribly or stuck to one thing. The chance of the former is much higher.

Why does this happen?

Why do we fail to stick to our resolutions?

Hereā€™s the thingā€¦

Weā€™re so used to looking forward that we donā€™t review our past enough.

Over the past 2 days, weā€™ve looked back and highlighted our memorable moments but today? Weā€™re doing an important thing

Identifying what we could have done better

Iā€™ve devised a 2-step process for this that you could benefit from. So, as always, notebooks/notes apps open šŸ˜

Step 1 is a rapid-fire round

List whatever comes to mind.

Anything you donā€™t remember with fondness. Things you feel you couldā€™ve done better. Donā€™t hold back. This is only between you and the book.

I had 5 points (itā€™s been a tricky year šŸ˜…)

Step 2: Letā€™s visit these rapid-fire points from a place of no judgement

Listenā€¦

Things donā€™t always go according to plan. Judging yourself harshly over anything youā€™ve written here will only do harm.

As Seneca says ā€œWhat benefit is there in reviewing past sufferings, and in being unhappy, just because once you were unhappy"

One of the main reasons people fail is poor planning, unexpected life changes and things not in your control.

Continuing where you left off from step 1ā€¦

Revisit them with the following questions

  1. Why do I see this as a bad/negative thing?

  2. What did I do / not do that led to it?

  3. Do I want to focus on this going forward for 2024?

Youā€™ll be surprised with the answers you write down. If any of what youā€™ve listed qualifies to be a focus for 2024 please make note of it. Itā€™ll come in handy when planning for 2024.

Hereā€™s my outcome if it helps:

It was a mixed year for me concerning running. I had other priorities that didnā€™t allow me to train my best. Some of it was in my control, some? No. I like running but I donā€™t like beating myself over it.

And thatā€™s it for today!

I know that was a lot so hereā€™s the summary:

  1. Rapid-fire of things you donā€™t look back with fondness

  2. Introspection of rapid-fire list

  3. Noting down what youā€™d like to continue for 2024 (for tomorrow)

P.s. If you celebrate Christmas I hope you had a great time. If you donā€™t I hope you had a great day just enjoying the festivities around you

See you tomorrow for Day 4šŸ˜